I read a lot of news — Sharing my Feedly boards

Nick Felker
2 min readMar 22, 2021

The opinions stated here are my own, not those of my company.

I’m all-in on RSS, the standard used to subscribe to updates from a website. I’ve spent close to a decade subscribing to various news sources and webcomics, occasionally adding and removing feeds.

Paying for news is important as well, as newsrooms shutting down have created a vacuum for misinformation and malicious actors to grift. Increasing the number of paid news sources is one goal I’ve had this year.

Additionally I have purchased a subscription to Feedly Pro. After Google Reader shut down, I easily transitioned to Feedly and have been using the free tier for many years. Yet I have found a growing interest in its advanced features.

Being able to integrate Twitter hashtags, Reddit posts, and newsletters all in a single feed is really handy. It means I can spend less time checking disparate sources and don’t miss anything. I can clean my email inbox now, as newsletters can be forwarded to my Feedly email addresses to read when I have time.

One other feature is being able to create public boards, custom feeds that I can curate. I’ve created a few public boards that I’ll be maintaining, and you can subscribe to these boards to get curated articles for each topic. My highlights and notes will also be accessible.

The “Technology Trends” board

I may add more boards in the future, which I’ll update in this post.

Additionally, I am looking for new RSS feeds to add to my curation. I’ve started hosting my own to process changing data into RSS.

The Presidential Desk feed performs a lookup of all legislation on the president’s desk after passing both chambers of Congress. I took advantage of the congress.gov search after discovering its RSS feed seems to have broke.

https://us-central1-redside-shiner.cloudfunctions.net/rss_congress

--

--

Nick Felker

Social Media Expert -- Rowan University 2017 -- IoT & Assistant @ Google